Friday, October 31, 2008

Halloween 2008

Halloween 2008
Luckily a shot in the heiny was just what I needed to get out of my deathbed in time to celebrate Halloween with my little Goblins. I had been shot down with strep throat or something of the sort on Monday and after three days of antibiotics I was still very sick. Went back to the doc and you guessed it, they gave me a good old-fashioned shot in the booty. But enough about me (no pun intended), on to the festivites.

We decided to have a frugal Halloween this year....or maybe it was lazy.....take your pick. We picked out costumes from our stock of Halloweens Past. Nolan and Sullivan agreed to don the handmade clown outfits that were made by Matt's Grandma Miller for him and his sister years ago. I think those were the original wigs as well. Jillian and I put together an Angel for her using her Princess Laia gown from last year and her Tinkerbell wings from the year before. And Brendan's costume has been handed down from cousin Tristan, to brother Sullivan and now to him. Add a $0.99 halo from that Christmas aisle that's always up before Halloween and $3.99 for face paint and ta-da!!!!!!







What a couple of clowns! They each had artistic input in the design of their clown make-up. Sullivan's lips didn't make it past the first piece of candy he ate after the first house!

















As you can see, the older three had a hard time waiting for their little bubby. Brendan wanted to eat everything as soon as it was put into his bucket. And if he saw a dog in the house, he would walk right in and say, "Puppy!" Oh, I forgot to add that the only way we could get Brendan in a costume was to tell him he looked cool. Then he would say, "Bubby, cool!" And when he saw other trick-or-treaters he would point to them and say, "Cool!"














Candy feast! We usually let them dig in that night and eat as much as they want. Then the candy goes into lock-up and used for bribery (Or Mommy's & Daddy's snack attacks). Jillian reported having so much fun this Halloween. Sullivan, as usual, lost steam early in the evening and sat out the last few houses. We were lucky to get the pumpkins carved and on the front step before 6pm tonight due to Matt's travels and my sickness. I guess it all came together and the important thing is they all had fun.
Posted by Picasa

2 comments:

Matt Eash said...

I must add that tonight / today was a very fun day. It sure was nice to have my wifey back in the game.

She pegged the whole night pretty much on target. This evening when reflecting, I had to think, wow, these little boogers sure are a lot of work, but I love them!

Sully had asked me earlier today what was after Halloween, when I told him Thanks Giving, he said "why do we have to have thanks giving"... Joy!

-matt-

Monica and Brian said...

The kids were so cute in the costumes!!

I have a blog now! I don't know how to do anything with it.